Election results

Make text smaller Make text larger

New York State Senate: 42nd districtDemocrat Jen Metzger will succeed longtime Republican incumbent state Sen. John J. Bonacic, who will step down at the end of the year.

Meanwhile, Ann Rabbitt will continue to serve as Orange County Clerk.

The results:

• Jen Metzger (D,WF,WE): 48,074

Ann Rabbitt (R,C,I,RF): 45,552

The 42nd District includes two cities and ten towns (including Tuxedo and Warwick) in Orange County, all of Sullivan County, six towns in Ulster County and six towns in Delaware County.

New York State Senate: 39th districtDemocrat James Skoufis gave up a safe seat in the Assembly in order to run for the 39th state Senate seat held for many years by William J. Larkin Jr.

Larkin announced in May that he would retire after four decades of public service at the end of his term. He would later endorse Stoney Point Councilman Tom Basile to succeed him.

Skoufis won the hotly contested race and will be part of the new Democratic majority in the state Senate.

The results:

Tom Basile (R,C,I): 42,051

• James Skoufis (D,WF,WE,RF): 48,789

The 39th Senate district includes the towns of Plattekill and Marlborough in Ulster County, the towns of Crawford, Montgomery, Newburgh, New Windsor, Cornwall, Blooming Grove, Chester, Monroe, Woodbury and Highland and the City of Newburgh in Orange County and the towns of Stony Point and Haverstraw in Rockland County.

New York Assembly: 98th districtRepublican incumbent Karl Brabenec defeated Scott Martens to win re-election to his third two-year term in office.

The results:

• Karl Brabenec (R,C,I,RF): 23,988

Scott Martens (D,WF,WE): 13,865

The 98th Assembly District includes the City of Port Jervis and the towns of Deerpark, Greenville, Minisink, Warwick, Monroe and Tuxedo in Orange County and portions of Ramapo in Rockland County.

New York Assembly: 99th districtColin Schmitt, a Republican, defeated Matthew Rettig, a Democrat, to takeover the Assembly seat held for the last six years by Democrat James Skoufis. Skoufis was elected to the state Senate Tuesday.

The results:

• Colin Schmitt: 23,786

Matthew Rettig: 20,889

The 99th Assembly District include the Orange County towns Woodbury, Highlands, Cornwall, New Windsor, Blooming Grove, Hamptonburgh, Chester, Goshen and Wawayanda and the town of Stoney Point in Rockland County.

Orange County Surrogate Court Robert A. Onofry was unopposed in his bid for a second ten-year term as Orange County Surrogate Court judge.

The results:

• Robert Onofry (R,C,I,RF): 73,785

Orange County SheriffCarl DuBois was unopposed in his bid for a fifth four-year term. First elected as the county's top cop in 2002, DuBois has not been challenged for office since 2006.

The results:

• Carl DuBois: (R,C,I,RF): 75,126

Town of MonroeTown Council

Republican Sal Scancarello was appointed to the Monroe Town Board at the beginning of the year to fill the vacancy created when Councilman Tony Cardone was elected as town supervisor last November.

Scancarello was unopposed in his effort to complete the term of office. He received 3,887 votes.

There were 43 write-in votes.

Proposition 1: Shall the qualified electors of the Town of Monroe approved the resolution adopted by the Town of Monroe Town Board on the 9th day of July 2018 to abolish the Monroe Lake Fire & Rescue Company S.A.T Defined Benefit Service Award Program for members of the Lakeside Fire & Rescue Company, Inc., established Jan. 1, 1998.

This proposition sought voter approval to abolish a service awards program.

However, there may have been some confusion over the wording of this proposition. Just prior to the vote, the Town of Monroe posted on its web site the following notice:

"Public misunderstanding what Proposition #1 on the Election Ballot says. The Town would like to clarify. Please read and note: No where in the proposition does it say abolish Lakeside Fire & Rescue Co."

The results:

Yes: 2,370

• No: 3,402

Proposition 2: Shall the annual contribution of the Town of Monroe for the operating budget of the Monroe Free Library be increased by $45,000 to the sum of $1,354,325 annually?

• Yes: 3,314

No: 2,818

Town of Palm TreeThe Town of Palm will begin the work of governance on Jan. 1, 2019. The town will include the Village of Kiryas Joel, 164 acres annexed from the unincorporated portion of the Town of Monroe, plus another 56 acres.

It was forged out of an agreement between Kiryas Joel officials and the political organization, United Monroe, and subsequently approved by voters in the of Monroe last November. The goal was to eliminate the influence of Kiryas Joel residents on Monroe politics.

The name “Palm Tree” comes from the translation of the family name of Joel Teitelbaum, the namesake of Kiryas Joel. In Yiddish: teitel means “date” (of the palm) and baum “tree.”

None of the candidates were opposed, although there was a smattering of write-in votes. All candidates ran with the endorsements of Democrats, Republicans and Independents.


Abraham Wieder, the longtime mayor of Kiryas Joel, was elected supervisor with 4,032 votes. He received 93.52 percent of his votes from voters who identified themselves as Independent.

Town Clerk

Gedalye Szegedin, the longtime village clerk and village administrator of Kiryas Joel, was elected town clerk with 3,952 votes. Like Wieder, Szegedin received 94.15 percent of all votes from Independents.

Town Council

The terms of office for the four town councilmen were staggered by one-year and three-year terms. This will allow continuity on the board and prevent a completely clean slate of candidates from taking office.

Town Council (two seats, one-year term)

• Joshua Blumenthal: 4,024

• Morris Steinberg: 4,007

Blumenthal also ran on the Conservative line.

Councilman (two seats, three-year term)

• Isaac Glanzer: 3,989

• Gerson Neuman: 4,000

Receiver Of Taxes

• Joel Mertz: 4,032

Highway Superintendent

Zalmen Stern: 4,035

Town Justice (two seats)

There were no candidates listed on the ballot.

There were 426 write-in votes.

Town of TuxedoTown Justice

Alyse McCathern, running unopposed as a Democrat and Independent, was elected with 875 votes.

Proposition 1

Town voters approved an increase in funding to $549,835 for the Tuxedo Park Library.

The results:

Yes: 873

No: 482

Village of WoodburyVillage Trustee (elect two)

• Andrew Giacomazza (R,SW): 1,971

• Jesus Gome (R,SW): 1,855

Stephen Hunter Jr. (D,I): 1,630

Reynaldo Hernandez (D,I): 1,513

Make text smaller Make text larger


Pool Rules


Why weren’t the roads clean?
Editor’s note: What was your Nov. 15 Nor’easter commuting nightmare? Send your tale of woe to editor.pn@strausnews.com and we’ll look to share as many stores...
Read more »

Skoufis begins his transition to state senator
By Nancy Kriz
— It’s been a little over a week since Assemblyman James Skoufis won election as the first Democrat to hold...

Read more »

WTBQ launches third annual Toys for Military Tots drive
WARWICK — On Monday, Nov. 12, the third annual Toys for Military Tots toy drive was launched by Orange County Community Radio WTBQ...
Read more »

Monroe's Citizens in the Great War: Arthur Coventry Patmore, the pioneer
By Aaron Lefkowitz
By definition, a pioneer is one, who goes forward into the unknown, well-aware of the dangers around, in search of a new frontier to develop for better...

Read more »


Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required
Community Newspapers


Local News
Why weren’t the roads clean?
  • Nov 16, 2018
Where in clues
'Health is everything'
  • Nov 15, 2018


Weather in Monroe, NY